The Amazing Race Australia has been awarded an Emmy in the category of non-scripted entertainment.

The 40th International Emmy Awards, held at the New York Hilton last night, saw 38 nominees from 15 different countries competing across a field of nine categories.

The Amazing Race Australia triumphed over other nominated shows The Challenger Muaythai of Singapore, El Hormiguero (The Anthill) of Spain and Brazil’s Planeta Extremo (Extreme Planet).

It is the second consecutive year El Hormiguero has been nominated but failed to bag the big prize.

 The host of The Amazing Race Australia, Grant Bowler, and Active TV President Michael McKay, accepted the award. 

Despite a string of nominations at various international awards, The Slap missed out on the Emmy for best drama series.

Instead, the award went to French crime series Braquo, which stars Jean-Hugues Anglade.

Australian producer Justin Davis was also unsuccessful with popular choice Absolutely Fabulous.  The prize instead was awarded to Brazilian A Mulher Invisível ("The Invisible Woman").

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *