The Palace leads South Australian Screen Awards nominations

15 March, 2012 by Matthew Worboys

Short film The Palace has led the nominations at this year's South Australian Screen Arts Awards with seven nominations, including Best Picture.

The Cyprian-Australian co-production was also nominated for Best Drama while writer-director Anthony Maras was nominated for Best Direction, Best Screenplay and Best Editing. Nick Matthews was nominated for Best Cinematography.


Maras was raised in Adelaide but studied film production at the University of California before returning to Australia to direct critically acclaimed films Azadi and Spike Up. He then directed The Palace, which has garnered an array of awards including the AACTA Award for Best Short Fiction Film, as well as the Australia’s Writer’s Guild and the Flickerfest awards for Best Australian Short Film. Maras also picked up last year's IF Award for Rising Talent.

Other films nominated at the South Australian Screen Arts Awards include Suburban Samarai, Horace in Slow Motion, Stunt Love and A Tale of Obsession.

Short animation Horace in Slow Motion received nominations for Best Picture, Best Comedy and Best Animation. Luke Jurevicius, the film’s director, has also been nominated for the music video for The Audrey’s song, Sometimes the Stars, which he also directed.

The South Australian Screen Awards primarily celebrate short film however in 2009 a Best Feature category was introduced. Over 80 films were considered at this year's awards, with 65 local filmmakers nominated across 20 award categories.

A record number of entries were received for the music video category, with nominations announced for the aforementioned film, as well as for the music videos of songs by The Beards, Some time Soon, The Grenadiers, Lyla and Hawks of Alba.

The SASA Gala Awards Ceremony will be held at the recently redesigned Mercury Cinema on Friday, April 20.

For a full list of the nominated films can be found below the video trailer of The Palace below.

SASA Genre Awards

Best Film

A Tale of Obsession Manda Webber
Horace in Slow Motion Luke Jurevicius
The Palace Anthony Maras, Kate Croser & Andros Achilleos
Stunt Love Caroline Man
Suburban Samurai David Ngo & Daniel Joyce

Best Drama

Beta Chad Leader
Collision David Ngo
Kill or Tell Cameron Roberts & Rhys Roscoe
The Palace Anthony Maras, Kate Croser & Andros Achilleos
Rapture Krystle Penhall

Best Documentary

Adelaide’s Forgotten Outlaws Peter Drew, Ronnie Chin & Frazer Dempsey
After Release Gemma Soloman
Ball of Light Sam Collins
The Curse of Grong Grong Rob Wright
Stunt Love Caroline Man

Best Comedy

A Few Nervous Habits Aaron Nash
A Tale of Obsession Manda Webber
Horace in Slow Motion Luke Jurevicius
Steak Knife Chad Leader
Suburban Samurai David Ngo & Daniel Joyce

Best Non-Narrative: To be announced on the night

Best Animation

Clarence’s Kite Thomas Cant
Devil and the Deep Blue Sea Rose Tucker
The Dream Lodge Brett Walter
Horace in Slow Motion Luke Jurevicius
Sometimes the Stars Luke Jurevicius

Best Music Video

Cut You Out (Hawks of Alba) Matt Vesley
Into Yer Bones (Lyla) Amy Handley
Old Uncle Scratch(The Grenadiers) Kelly Carpenter
Sometimes the Stars (The Audreys) Luke Jurevicius
Suddenly Smiling (Some Time Soon) Rihannon Miller
You Should Consider Having Sex
With A Bearded Man (The Beards) Daniel Principe & Nima Nabili Rad

Innovation in Digital Media

Big Stories, Small Towns Nick Crowther
Danger 5 Kate Croser & Dario Russo
6 on the St Samuel Wright
Wastelander Panda Kirsty Stark

Best Feature Film

Die for Real Mike Green
I Am Orpheus Adam Carter
6 on the St Samuel Wright
Shut Up Little Man Sophie Hyde & Matthew Bate
Yudum Terry Cleary

SASA Craft Awards

Best Direction:
Matthew Bate Stunt Love
Craig Behenna Suburban Samurai
Andrew Kunzel, Arthur Moody & Luke Jurevicius Horace in Slow Motion
Anthony Maras The Palace
Nicholas Steele Laser

Best Cinematography

Victoria Cocks Rapture
Maxx Corkindale A Tale of Obsession
Sam King and Nick Matthews Collision
Nick Matthews The Palace
Nima Nabili Rad Beta

Best Composition

Michael Darren Collision
Jonny Elk-Walsh Rapture
Caleb Jones Captivated
Christopher Larkin Clarence’s Kite
Jason Sweeney The Other Side of Desire

Best Screenplay

Matthew Bate Stunt Love
Craig Behenna Suburban Samurai
Anthony Maras The Palace
Fiona Sprott A Few Nervous Habits
Dave Wade A Tale of Obsession

Best Sound Design

Pete Best & Scott Illingworth Stunt Love
Michael Darren Collision
Tom Huezanroeder The Palace
Leigh Kenyon L’Artiste!
Brett Walter The Dream Lodge

Best Editing

Anthony Maras The Palace
Nick Matthews Collision
David Ngo & Cleland Jones Suburban Samurai
Krystle Penhall Rapture
Zane Roach Steak Knife

Best Performance

Kieran McNamara Steak Knife
Deanna Ortuso A Tale of Obsession
Roy Phung Suburban Samurai
Astrid Pill A Few Nervous Habits
Hew Wagner Captivated

Best Production Design

Anny Duff Collision
Bowen Ellames Beta
Anita Seiler & Catrin Blight A Tortured Mind
Manda Webber A Tale of Obsession
Rita Zanchetta The Other Side of Desire

Emerging Producer: To be announced on the night

Emerging Young Filmmaker: To be announced on the night

People’s Choice Award: To be announced on the night