X Factor winner Cyrus to perform live at AACTA Awards

08 December, 2015 by Staff Writer

X Factor winner Cyrus will perform live on the red carpet at this year's AACTA Awards.

Rachel Griffiths and Teresa Palmer have also been anounced as presenters at tonight's ceremony at The Star Event Centre in Sydney.


Griffiths and Palmer will join guests and presenters including Mel Gibson, Radha Mitchell, nominee Patrick Brammall, Stephen Peacocke, Magda Szubanski, Megan Gale and Home and Away's Georgie Parker and Bonnie Sveen.

A highlight of the show will be the presentation of Australia’s highest screen award, the AACTA Longford Lyell Award, to Cate Blanchett. 

Hugo Weaving (nominated for his performance in The Dressmaker) and Richard Roxburgh will present the Award, with a tribute from Gillian Armstrong and filmed tributes from Martin Scorsese, Robert Redford, Alejandro González Iñárritu and Ron Howard.

In a record-breaking year for Australian films at the local box office, anticipation around who will take home a golden statuette is hot. 

Nominees attending include Holding the Man performers Anthony LaPaglia and Ryan Corr, star of Last Cab to Darwin, Michael Caton, and Sigrid Thornton, nominated for her portrayal of stage and screen legend Judy Garland in Channel Seven’s Peter Allen – Not the Boy Next Door.

Joining their cast members are a number of nominated industry icons including George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road) and Jocelyn Moorhouse (The Dressmaker). 

First-time nominees attending include Joel Jackson (Peter Allen – Not the Boy Next Door and Deadline Gallipoli) and Ningali LawfordWolf (Last Cab to Darwin).

Other newly announced guests attending include Bindi Irwin, Emma Booth, Lucy Durack, Diana Glenn, Arianwen Parkes-Lockwood, Emily Taheny, Heather Maltman, Sam Frost and Sasha Mielczarek. 

They join a host of much-loved Australian film and television performers including Claudia Karvan, Marta Dusseldorp, Damian Walshe-Howling, Brooke Satchwell and Nicole da Silva, along with Home and Away's Nic Westaway, George Mason, Isabella Giovinazzo, Pia Miller, Kassandra Clementi, Dan Ewing, Lisa Gormley and Will McDonald.

Cyrus joins previously announced musical acts, Birds of Tokyo and Rudimental.

The red carpet and ceremony will be shown on Channel Seven at 8:30pm tonight.