Press release from ATOM

ATOM (the Australian Teachers of Media) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2011 ATOM Awards, which recognise and celebrate the excellence displayed by Australian and New Zealand productions for the screen.

“We are thrilled to be announcing this year’s list of most deserved finalists for the 2011 ATOM Awards. The judges really had their work cut out for them this year as we were yet again impressed by the quality of the entries we received,” commented ATOM Awards Executive Officer, Simon Wilmot.

“The inclusion of new awards – Best Children’s Factual Television, Best Children’s Fictional Television, Best Factual Television Series and Best Docudrama – also resulted in some fantastic submissions for this year’s ATOM Awards program.”

“I congratulate everyone who is announced as a finalist today and encourage each and every one of them to be proud of their achievement. I would also like to thank all other entrants into our program and whilst they are not in the finalist listing this year, I urge them to look to next year and make sure they submit again. It’s all about the evolution of your craft and the constant pursuit of improvement,” he added.

The annual ATOM Awards recognise excellence in over thirty categories of Film, Television, Animation and Multimedia (including video games) and celebrate the very best of Australian and New Zealand screen production.

The competition was open to anyone who had produced a short film, documentary, animation, electronic game, educational resource, television program or innovative new media work in the past twelve months.

“We look forward to celebrating the achievements of our 2011 ATOM Awards Finalists and Winners at the 2011 ATOM Awards night in October,” Mr Wilmot concluded.

The 2011 ATOM Awards winners will be announced at the 2011 ATOM Awards Night, which will be held at the Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne on Friday 21 October, 2011.

The 2011 ATOM Awards program is presented by ATOM.

The 2011 ATOM Awards is sponsored and supported by Aurora Community Channel, Swinburne University, Madman, Encore Magazine, Griffith University, Holmesglen Institute of TAFE, Deakin University, AFTRS, Federation Square Melbourne, ScreenHub, Quest Collins Street Central, Wide Angle, Qpix, Inside Film, Metro Magazine, Screen Education Magazine, Northbridge Piazza – City of Perth, Scotch College, Big Mouth Marketing Communications, Australian Directors Guild, Screen Producers Association of Australia, Screenworks, Film Making Summer School, Australian Short Films, Screen ACT, Film & Television Institute WA, Australian College QED, VCA School of Film and Television and Australian Screen Editors.

The 2011 ATOM Awards is funded by Film Victoria and the South Australian Film Corporation.

For more information about the 2011 ATOM Awards please visit

The full list of winners can be found here:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *