The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) today announced the nominees for Best Short Animation and Best Short Fiction Film at the 3rd AACTA Awards.

The Academy also revealed 15 feature films that are eligible for the awards, which will be presented in Sydney next January.

The nominees for Best Short Animation are:

Cautionary Tail. Pauline Piper, Simon Rippingale
Butterflies. Warwick Burton, Isabel Peppard
The Dukes of Bröxstônia – Mojo. Stu Connolly
Woody. Stuart Bowen, Jodi Matterson

In contention for Best Short Fiction Film are:

The Last Time I Saw Richard. John Molloy, Nicholas Verso
Perception. Lyn Norfor, Miranda Nation
Record. David Lyons, Dave Szamet
Tau Seru (Small Yellow Field). Rodd Rathjen

Juries of industry professionals will decide the nominees in these categories. Members of the AFI and AACTA will vote to decide the winners after the AACTA Awards Screenings.

The 15 feature films are:

100 Bloody Acres
Around The Block
Dead Europe
The Great Gatsby
Mystery Road
Return to Nim's Island
The Rocket
Satellite Boy
Save Your Legs!
The Turning

To qualify, films must have a five capital city cinema release between 8 November 2012 and 6 November 2013 or through jury pre-selection for films that play in two-to-four capitals.

AACTA members will vote under a two-step voting model to determine the nominees and winners in the feature film categories. Nominees in the feature film, television and documentary categories will be announced later this year.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *