AFTRS, Australia’s national screen arts and broadcast school, is delighted to celebrate the success of several of its alumni at the 2015 AACTA Awards.

Six AFTRS graduates picked up sparkly gold statues at this year’s awards, across feature film, television, documentary and short film categories.

Shawn Seet won the AACTA AWARD FOR BEST DIRECTION IN A TELEVISION DRAMA OR COMEDY for The Code, Episode 1; THE AACTA AWARD FOR BEST SOUND was shared by AFTRS alumni Sam Petty with Des Kenneally, Justine Angus, Brooke Trezise, Francis Ward Lindsay and Robert Mackenzie for their work on The Rover; Beck Cole shared (with Craig Anderson) the BEST DIRECTION IN A TELEVISION LIGHT ENTERTAINMENT OR REALITY SERIES AWARD for Black Comedy Episode 3; Belinda Trimboli shared (with Tom Heuzenroeder, Des Kenneally and Pete Best) the AACTA AWARD FOR BEST SOUND IN TELEVISION for Anzac Girls Episode 6: Courage; producer Alex White shared, with Mirrah Foulkes, the AACTA AWARD FOR BEST SHORT FICTION FILM for Florence has Left the Building; Will Sheridan shared the AACTA Award for BEST SOUND IN A DOCUMENTARY for Sons & Mothers with Des Kenneally, Pete Best and Scott Illingworth

In other AACTA highlights, Tender, directed by AFTRS’ first Creative Fellow Lynette Wallworth, won the AACTA AWARD FOR BEST DOCUMENTARY TELEVISION PROGRAM. Tender was produced by Kath Shelper and also includes the work of alumni Karryn de Cinque (editor) and Liam Egan (sound editor).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *