April 30 deadline for WA Screen Awards entries

24 April, 2014 by Press Release

The 26th annual WA Screen Awards (WASAs), presented by FTI are now accepting entries from Western Australian film, television, digital and game projects delivered between 1 January 2013 and 31 March 2014.

The deadline for entries is Wednesday 30 April 2014. The WA Screen Awards (WASAs) is the premier celebration of West Australian screen culture, celebrating excellence and achievements in feature film, short film, web series, music videos, television production, documentary and games.
The 2014 red carpet gala awards ceremony will be held on Monday 14 July 2014 at a soon-to-be-announced, glamourous new venue and the event will feature VIP guests, world-class service, delicious canapés, premium beverages and live entertainment.


Over 500 film industry leaders, Western Australian screen practitioners, media, sponsors and government officials are anticipated to attend.
Former WASA winners include some of Australia’s most prominent screen artists including Nelson Woss (Red Dog) as well as outstanding young talent including actress Olivia DeJonge, who recently secured her debut lead role in the yet-to-be announced M.Night Shyamalan Hollywood feature film.
The 2013 WASAs were held in conjunction with the Revelation Film Festival and Cinefest Oz and attracted a record 800 entries from more than 100 nominees across 66 screen projects.
“The 26th WA Screen Awards will take everything that was great about the awards in 2013, and make it better. FTI aims to present WA's biggest celebration yet of the amazing community of screen story tellers that we have here in Western Australia. We look forward to seeing our nominees and winners go onto bigger and better things, as they do every year. Good luck to all of the entrants!" said CEO of FTI, Paul Bodlovich.

FTI enhances the vibrancy of the WA Screen Sector though the provision of screen events, training, industry opportunities as well as production development and support. The WASAs aim to connect audiences with WA screen content and WA screen artists with each other.

FTI encourages all Western Australian screen practitioners to enter their projects by 30 April 2014 for the chance to be recognised at the WASA 2014 Gala Awards Ceremony to be held on Monday 14 July 2014.

The 26th annual WASAs are proudly supported by major partner ScreenWest and presented in conjunction with the Revelation Perth International Film Festival.

1. Outstanding Contribution to the Industry
2. Young Filmmaker of the Year
3. Best Student Film
4. People’s Choice
5. Best Short Film –Drama
6. Best Feature Film –Drama
7. Best Short – Factual
8. Best Feature Film – Factual
9. Best Television Production – Drama
10. Best Television Production – Factual
11. Best Live Television Production
12. Best Animation – Short Form
13. Best Animation – Long Form
14. Best Direction – Short Form
15. Best Direction – Long Form
16. Best Script – Short Form
17. Best Script – Long Form
18. Best Music Video
19. Best Game
20. Best Interactive Narrative
21. Best Performance by an Actor
22. Best Performance by an Actress
23. Best Cinematography– Short Form
24. Best Cinematography – Long Form
25. Best Production Design – Short Form
26. Best Production Design – Long Form
27. Best Sound – Short Form
28. Best Sound – Long Form
29. Best Editing – Short Form
30. Best Editing – Long Form
31. Best Original Music – Short Form
32. Best Original Music – Long Form
33. Best Use of Visual FX








  • wasa