[Press Release by The Lantern Group]

The 18th annual Flickerfest International awards were announced last night at a glittering ceremony at the Bondi Pavilion, Bondi Beach. Attended by prestigious guests from both the Australian and International film industry, the Closing Night Award Ceremony honoured those entrants with award-winning films within the competition. Afterwards, a selection of the winner’s short films, were screened in the amphitheatre to guests, followed shortly by the Closing Night After Party. As
Australia’s premier short film festival, Flickerfest wrapped its 10-day Sydney season before embarking on an 18 venue national tour.

Awards given out on the night were as follows:

Dennis won the Coopers Award for Best Film at Flickerfest 2008, beating competitors from around the world to take the $5000 prize – and eligibility for Oscar consideration in 2008. Written and directed by Mads Matthiesen, the film features Dennis, an introvert bodybuilder, who when he invites a local girl out on a date his mother is hurt and disappointed. Despite the pressure she puts on him to cancel, Dennis ventures into a night he will never forget. Dennis is the story of a boy’s attempt to cut loose of his possessive mother and of a fragile teenage mind captured in a huge macho body.

Winning the Yoram Gross Award For Best Animation, along with the $1250 prize, was I Am So Proud Of You, also now a contender for Oscar consideration. The film written, directed and produced by US animator Don Hertzfeld made it’s Australian premiere at Flickerfest.

The National Geographic Channel Award for Best Documentary was awarded to Zietek from Poland . In the film, the character – Bogdan Zietek LOVES women. He fills his house with busty “come hither” life-sized sculptures, seemingly with the blessing of his wife. Get an eyeful of his 40-year passion in this quirky, artful documentary. The film was written and directed by Bartosz Blaschke, and he was awarded $1000 prize-money for his submission.

John and Karen won the Movie EXTRA & Jungle Software Special Jury Award. The hilarious animated film shows, John the polar bear apologising to Karen the penguin after an argument they had over tea and biscuits. The UK film written and directed by Matthew Walker and produced by Sarah Cox, took home the $500 prize, along with the Gorilla Budgeting & Scheduling software.

I Love Sarah Jane USA/Australia took out the $1000 prize for Best Use of Digital Technology in a Short Film. The film was written by Spencer Susser and David Michod, and produced by Angie Fielder.

Joel Edgerton’s The List won The Seed Production Award for Best Australian Original Screenplay winning $1000. The dark film shows Dale, who has found himself on a dark path: one of violence and crime…but a collision with his romantic past sparks a deeper questioning.

JVC Short Film Award for Best Australian Film (HDV Camcorder GY HD201EB) was awarded to Netherland Dwarf, which was written and directed by David Michod, and co-produced by Angie Fielder and Polly Staniford.

Ali and the Ball received the Icebergs Dining Room & Bar Award for Best Direction in an Australian Short Film ($1000.00). Directed by Alex Holmes and produced By Helen Pankhurst

SBS Television Award was awarded to White Bread, written and directed by Luc Anthony, produced by Tristan Waley
Avid Australia Award for Best Editing in an Australian Short Film (DV Editing System RRP more than $3,850) was won by the film Advantage. Editing By Andrew Canny Film Support & Chaotic Pictures Award for Most Resourceful Production
($500, and $3,000 worth of post facilities and camera hire) went to My Rabit Hoppy. The hilarious film shows, a boy named Henry’s ‘Show and Tell’ school project about a pet rabbit goes horribly, horribly wrong. Produced by Anthony NAD

Audioloc Sound Design Award for Best Achievement in Sound (One day’s sound post at Audioloc) was received by Netherland Dwarf with sound design by Sam Petty

Miller Camera Support Award for  Best Cinematography in an Australian Short Film (Miller Tripod kit) was awarded to cinematographer Jac Fitzgerald for Sumemr Breaks (dir. Sean Kruk). The film is about a day in the life of bored teenagers in the suburbs and was produced by Caroline Barry.

Flickerfest IF Media Award for Most Popular Film Awards (Qualifies the winner for nomination in the 2009 IF Awards and one year subscription) – This prize will be announced later this week

Flickerfest 2009 will open in Byron Bay on January 23RD at A & I Hall, Bangalow. And then head off to Darwin (26th January), Alice Springs, Katherine, Adelaide, Narrabri, Gunnedah, Kempsey, Noosa, Sawtell, Brisbane, Perth, Broome,
Bathurst, Hobart, Canberra and Melbourne.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *