Finalists revealed for SPA super producer award

11 November, 2014 by Don Groves

Hoodlum, Playmaker Media, Princess Pictures, Screentime and See-Saw Films are the finalists for the Media Super Production Business of the Year gong at the 14th Screen Producers Australia Awards.

SPA also announced Des Monaghan, the former executive chairman of Screentime, will receive the lifetime achievement award at the Screen Forever conference.


Hosted by Adam Zwar, the awards recognise the creation of outstanding screen content; celebrate the skills and accomplishments of production businesses; and aim to increase awareness of the role producers play in creating Australian screen stories for local and international audiences.

SPA executive director Matthew Deaner said: “This year’s awards highlight the incredible contribution individuals and businesses make to the Australian screen industry, and the importance of the awards in recognising excellence and acknowledging their great efforts.”

The Media Super Production Business of the Year is awarded to the company that has produced an outstanding project or body of work and has contributed to the advancement of the screen industry. Goalpost Pictures won that accolade last year.

Monaghan stepped down in May as exec chairman of the Screentime group following 18 years with business partner Bob Campbell. Their credits include ANZAC Girls for ABC TV, the Underbelly franchise for the Nine Network and the Tim Winton’s Cloudstreet miniseries for Showtime Australia.

Before Screentime he was controller of programming and director of program and production for TVNZ Networks 1 and 2. In the late 1980s he set up South Pacific Pictures Limited before being appointed network director of production and program development for the Seven Network.

The awards will take place on November 18 at the Palladium at Crown in Melbourne as part of the 29th Screen Forever conference.

To view trailers of the finalists click here