Shaun Grant.

The Australian Writers’ Guild has unveiled the nominees for the 49th Annual AWGIE Awards.

Writers from the upcoming Australian films Boys in the Trees and Ali’s Wedding are nominated alongside the scribes behind Cleverman, Wentworth, Wolf Creek, Please Like Me and Glitch.

Hopscotch's John Collee is nominated twice, for Tanna (with Bentley Dean, Martin Butler and the Yakel tribe of Tanna Island) and, in the feature film-adaptation category, for The Patriarch.

So is Shaun Grant, for both Berlin Syndrome and Jasper Jones, the latter of which he co-wrote with novelist Craig Silvey. 

In a first for the awards, the newly introduced Short Form category received more than 30 entries, the highest number of any category. 

23 AWGIEs will be awarded across categories covering the full spectrum of performance writing in radio, television, film, theatre and interactive media.         

For 49 years, the Australian Writers’ Guild has presented the AWGIE Awards to recognise and reward excellence in performance writing. 

The 2016 individual category winners will be eligible for the Major Award, given to the most outstanding script of the year. Previous awards have gone to the writers of The Water Diviner (2015), The Code (2014), The Sapphires (2012), Animal Kingdom (2010) and Cloud Street (1999).

Somewhat surprisingly, only one telemovie script was nominated and will be announced on the night.

See the full list of nominees here.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *