Neil Peplow will be the new CEO of the Australian Film, Television and Radio School (AFTRS), where he was the director of screen from 2011 to 2014.

Currently chief operating officer of the Met Film School in London and Berlin, he will succeed Sandra Levy, who stepped down last month after eight years in the post.

“With his strong skills and experience in screen educational institutions, as well as proven screen production expertise, Mr Peplow will be an invaluable addition to the team at AFTRS,” said acting Arts Minister Warren Truss.

Ann Browne, director of corporate services and chief financial officer of AFTRS, will continue to act as CEO until Peplow starts.  Peplow began his career at Ealing Studios in London in the early nineties and later served as head of production at the Film Consortium, as a media industry consultant and director of film at the UK’s Creative Skillset.

In other government moves, Gabrielle Trainor has been reappointed as chair of the National Film and Sound Archive board and Wayne Denning, the managing director of multi-media production company Carbon Media and a board member since 2011, becomes deputy chair.

Michael Loebenstein’s term as NFSA CEO has been renewed for another three years. Truss said Trainor’s reappointment will deliver “ongoing stability for the organisation in a period of significant change,” a reference to the controversial staff cuts and restructure orchestrated by the CEO.

He said Loebenstein has provided “high quality leadership and delivered a wide ranging modernisation and restructure of the institution” and his reappointment will ensure the renewal of the organisation is seen through to completion.

Truss also thanked Levy for overseeing “significant developments during her tenure,” leaving the school in a very strong position.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *