Australian art-house cinema pioneer Natalie Miller will receive the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award from Screen Producers Australia.

The executive director of Sharmill Films, which she established in 1967, and co-founder and co-managing partner of Cinema Nova will receive the award at next week's Screen Forever conference.

"We’re thrilled that Natalie has agreed to accept the Lifetime Achievement Award that recognises her outstanding contribution to the Australian film industry,” said SPA CEO Matt Deaner.

Natalie is a member of the boards of NACO and the VCA School of Film and TV. The Natalie Miller Fellowship was established in 2011 by a Melbourne committee of women to provide an annual grant to potential talent, to encourage leadership and to help profile women in the corporate film industry.

In 2013 she was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day honours list for services to the film industry. Film Victoria  CEO Jenni Tosi will present the award.

Also announced today were the finalists for the SPA Business Awards recognising screen production companies in two categories: Breakthrough Business of the Year and Media Super Production Business of the Year.

Breakthrough Business of the Year finalists:

Brindle Films
Ludo Studio
Media Stockade
Mint Pictures

The 2014 winner was Brisbane’s Carbon Media, an Indigenous advertising agency and full-service media company.

Media Super Production Business of the Year finalists:

Endemol Shine Australia
FremandleMedia Australia
Hedone Productions
Matchbox Pictures

Last year's winner was Playmaker Media.

The Screen Producers Australia Awards will take place at the Palladium at Crown in Melbourne on November 19.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *