Press Release

Joey was announced as the winner of the Best Short Film at the 2013 St Kilda Film Festival (SKFF) Closing Night Awards, presented by City of Port Phillip and held at the St Kilda Town Hall on Saturday 1st June.

Taking out the title ahead of ninety-nine exceptional short films and filmmakers, the talented team behind Joey, Director John Evagora and Producer Polly Staniford, went home with the award and a $10,000 cash prize, presented by City of Port Phillip Mayor Cr Amanda Stevens.

John Evagora was also awarded Best Director for the film and the post-production team; Pablo Labanino and Daniel Agdag won Best Editing for their work. Melbourne actor Steve Mouzakis, who starred as Joey, added to the film’s growing list of awards by securing Best Actor for his role. Commendation in the Best Short Film category also went to Director Jessica Redenbach and Producer Cecilia Ritchie for the film, Tender.

The 2013 St Kilda Film Festival marked 30 years as Australia’s premiere short film festival with an impressive 10-day program at The Palais and Astor Theatres, showcasing Australia’s Top 100 short films, SoundKILDA, films from SXSW and special retrospective screenings – One Step Ahead, Old Gold St Kilda and Easy Come, Easy Go.

The prized Craft and Visual Effects Awards went to Director Christopher Frey for Explosions, a compelling and visually stunning short film screened at the Festival’s Opening Night to roaring reviews.

The full list of 2013 winners who took home their share of $40,000 in cash and in-kind prizes includes:

Best Short Film
: Joey – Dir. John Evagora / Prod. Polly Staniford
Commendation: Tender – Dir. Jessica Redenbach / Prod. Cecilia Ritchie

Craft Award
Explosions – Dir. Christopher Frey / Prod. Christopher Frey

Best Director
Winner: Joey – Dir. John Evagora
Commendation: Arc – Dir. Max Doyle

Best Achievement in Cinematography
Yardbird – Adam Arkapaw

Best Achievement in Screenplay
The Road Home – Denie Pentecost

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking
She. Say – Dir. Leah Purcell / Prod. Bain Stewart and David Jowsey

Best Documentary
Tidiest Town 2002 – Dir. Anne-Maree Shelton / Prod. Anne-Maree Shelton

Best Animation
Sleight of Hand – Dir. Michael Cusack / Prod. Richard Chataway

Best Comedy
Gus – Dir. Andrew Martin / Prod. Andrew Martin

Best Achievement in Editing
Joey – Pablo Labanino and Daniel Agdag

Best Achievement in Sound – Post Production
Men of the Earth – Andrew Kavanagh

Best Actor
Steve Mouzakis – Joey

Best Achievement Visual Effects
Explosions – Christopher Frey

Best Achievement in Production Design
The Hoarders – Jessica Meyer

Best Original Score
Yardbird – Elliott Wheeler

Audience Award
Dave’s Dead – Dir. Alethea Jones / Prod. Julian Costanzo and Luke Ryan

SBS2 TV Award                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Thin Air – Dir. Natalie Nalesnyik / Prod. Dan Gregg

Under the Radar – Best Youth Short Film                                                                                                                                                                                                  Resistance – Dir. Blake Borsch / Prod. Blake Borsch

This year’s Festival screened a calibre of Australian films reflective of 30 years at the top. We look forward to
another successful year in 2014 and the Regional Tour, set to kick-off shortly,’ said the Festival’s Director, Paul

To continue the celebrations, the Festival will embark on its annual regional tour from June 14 – July 13, 2013 to deliver the best short films to screens in Mildura, Charlton, Queenscliff, Nhill, Camperdown, Cohuna, Eaglehawk, Mirboo North and Mallacoota.

For full film listings, ticketing, tour dates and venue details please visit