The Code.
Shelley Birse has taken out the top prize at this year’s AWGIE Awards, winning the Major Award for the second season of ABC cyber-thriller The Code

The first season of The Code also took out the Australian Writers’ Guild Major Award in 2014. This year’s award makes it the only series to have been recognised by two Major Awards for both of its seasons. The Code also received the AWGIE Award for the Television: Miniseries – Original category.

Overall, more than 25 Australian writers – from radio, television, film, theatre and interactive media – were honoured at this year’s AWGIE Awards, held in Sydney on Friday evening.

Andrew Knight and Osamah Sami’s Ali’s Wedding took out the award for most outstanding script for an original feature, while Shaun Grant and Craig Silvey received the award for most outstanding feature adaptation for Jasper Jones.

Samantha Strauss was honoured for her original telemovie, Mary: The Making of a Princess, and Barracuda’s Blake Ayshford and Belinda Chayko took out Television Miniseries – Adaptation category.

Andrew Knight also scored a second AWGIE Award for his work on Rake.

The 2016 Fred Parsons Award for outstanding contribution to Australian Comedy was presented to Barry Humphries. Humphries, whose career has spanned 60 years, was honoured for the contribution he has made to Australian and international comedy writing.

The AWG also honoured Craig Pearce – co-writer of Strictly Ballroom, Romeo + Juliet, Moulin Rouge, Charlie St Cloud and The Great Gatsby – by awarding him the Australian Writers’ Guild Lifetime Achievement Award.

AWG president Jan Sardi said that, at a time when television is experiencing a global renaissance, the Annual AWGIE Awards are a way of honouring the world-class talent of Australian screenwriters and playwrights.

“With the advent of streaming services such as Netflix and Stan revolutionising the way we all consume screen content, there is an undeniable buzz and energy around our film and TV industries in particular,” he said.

“This heralds exciting times ahead not only for Australian writers for performance, but for the millions of viewers hungry for top-notch content on their screens and stages,” he said.

The full list of 2016 winners:

Major Award
The Code: Season 2 – Shelley Birse

Telemovie – Original
Mary: The Making of a Princess – Samantha Strauss

Television: Miniseries – Adaptation

Barracuda – Blake Ayshford and Belinda Chayko

Television: Miniseries – Original
The Code: Season 2 – Shelley Birse

Television – Series

Rake: Season 4, Episode 407 – Andrew Knight

Television – Serial

Neighbours: Episode 7202 – Jason Herbison

Comedy – Sketch or Light Entertainment

The Weekly with Charlie Pickering: ‘Halal Certification’ and ‘Stadium Naming Rights’ – Gerard McCulloch with Charlie Pickering

Comedy – Situation or Narrative
Please Like Me: Season 3, 'Pancakes with Faces' –Josh Thomas and Liz Doran

Feature Film – Original
Ali's Wedding – Andrew Knight & Osamah Sami

Feature Film  – Adaptation
Jasper Jones – Shaun Grant & Craig Silvey

Short Form

Slingshot – David Hansen

Radio – Original
Happy Monday – Richie Black

Radio – Adaptation
Spirit – Donna Abela

Interactive Media
The Forgotten City – Nick Pearce

Beat Bugs: 'Yellow Submarine' – Josh Wakely

Documentary – Public Broadcast or Exhibition
Baxter and Me – Gillian Leahy
The Silences – Margot Nash

Documentary – Corporate & Training

Seven Women Nepal – The Birth of a Social Enterprise – Gaby Purchase and Claire Stone

Community and Youth Theatre
A Kid Like Me – Sally Hardy with Alirio Zavarce

The Bleeding Tree – Angus Cerini

Children’s Theatre
Reasons to Stay Inside – Katy Warner
The Red Balloon – Hilary Bell

Music Theatre

The Rabbits – Lally Katz

Children’s Television – P Classification
Sydney Sailboat: 'Trash and Treasure' – Rachel Spratt

Children’s Television – C Classification
Ready for This: 'The Birthday Party' – Leah Purcell


David Williamson Prize

Given in celebration and recognition of excellence in writing for Australian theatre
The Bleeding Tree – Angus Cerini

Richard Lane Award
For outstanding service and dedication to the Australian Writers’ Guild
Karin Altmann

Dorothy Crawford Award

For outstanding contribution to the profession
John Romeril

Fred Parsons Award

For outstanding contribution to Australian comedy
Barry Humphries

Hector Crawford Award
For outstanding contribution to the craft as a script producer, editor or dramaturge
Marcia Gardner

The Australian Writers’ Guild Lifetime Achievement Award
Craig Pearce


Monte Miller Award – Long Form
Mary, Mary – Penelope Chai & Adam Spellicy

Monte Miller Award – Short Form
It Will Peck You – Katie Found

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *